My Random Thoughts

this thing called faith

leave a comment »

What is faith?  The Bible defines faith as:  Hebrews 11 [ Faith in Action ] Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. This is what the ancients were commended for. By faith we understand that the universe was formed at God’s command, so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible. …

The dictionary defines it as: 1. confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.

2. belief that is not based on proof: He had faith that the hypothesis would be substantiated by fact.

3. belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion: the firm faith of the Pilgrims.

4. belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.: to be of the same faith with someone concerning honesty.

5. a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith.

It is interesting in how faith is defined, the belief in the unseen. Yet people seem surprised that I am struggling with this thing called faith. And to be honest, I probably lost all my faith last year.

I stand here surprised that most Christians do not struggle with their faith. You might be asking why I would say such a thing. I think back to the time of Moses. God chosen people continued to lose faith even though they did see the signs the miracles from God. They saw the sea parted. They received manna from God. Water came from the rock after being struck by Moses staff. They were guided by the fire and smoke from God. Yet they doubted. Then there is the Apostle Thomas whose name I share. He lived with Jesus. He saw all the miracles. Jesus told him what was going to happen and yet he refused to believe that Jesus had been raised from the dead. It took Jesus standing in front of him telling him to put his fingers in the holes in his hands and side.

So maybe I can say struggling with one’s faith is natural. That it is easier not to believe then to believe even when you can see it with your own eyes. So as I try to rebuild this fragile thing called faith I can be comforted that those who directly saw the miracles of God and even those who lived with the Son of God struggled to believe i.e. have faith at times.

As I work rebuilding my faith, or as a friend called “going through this desert “I am thankful for the prayers I have received. I am also thankful for three of my closet friends who are walking beside of me as I try to get out of this desert I am in right now.

Thomas

Written by thomas

February 12, 2013 at 9:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

