My Random Thoughts

Christmas time became a chore

with 3 comments

It was about 15 years ago that Christmas time became a chore. It was not about the commercialization of Christmas that did it. It was family that ruined it.

It started with a simple a present. I bought my one niece a very very cheap small color TV. I bought my other niece a bunch of art supplies. I will admit that the TV cost more than the art supplies, but one niece was just too young to buy a TV for. However, my now former sister in-law was not happy because I spent less on her daughter. At her daughter’s age the amount spent was not important to her but the amount of gifts was important for her.

Then a couple of years later my former sister in-law was not happy with the quality of the gift I had bought. I spent the same amount between my nieces, but when it came to her daughter I bought a very very cheap small color TV like I did for my other niece a couple of years earlier.

A few years later I bought both my nieces a bible and that was the last straw. My one niece threw such a fit because I bought her Bible. She screamed at me how she did not need no stupid Bible.

Ever since then I have dreaded Christmas time. It seemed no matter what I did it was wrong. So as I bought my nieces and nephew Christmas gifts this year, I could not help but think of the possible upcoming fits that will be thrown.

I think if there is any fits thrown this year there will be no gifts next year.

Ba Hum Bug

Thomas

 

Written by thomas

December 5, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. I think you have been very patient!

    sandyfaithking

    December 6, 2012 at 8:44 am

    • I’ve never had a problem though with my nephew. He is just happy getting something for Christmas.

      thomas

      December 6, 2012 at 10:14 am

  2. Wow it’s incomprehensible to me that people are so rude about GIFTS.

    Amy @ My Friend Amy

    December 10, 2012 at 1:10 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

